# Publishing content

Learn more about publishing content and editing published content.

**Are you looking for our API Reference?:**

[Check out our API Reference document on mutations](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/api-reference/content-api/mutations#publishing-content-mutations)

## How to publish content

Publishing content is in some ways the most important step of creating effective content. If it is not published, no one can consume the content that you've created.

Hygraph has two [Content Stages](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/developer-guides/content/content-stages) as we've seen before, `DRAFT` and `PUBLISHED`. When you have finished working on a content piece and would like to move it out of the `DRAFT` stage and into the `PUBLISHED` stage, simply click `Save & Publish` or `Publish`.

**Pro Tip:**

- If the latest changes have not yet been saved, the button will say `Save & Publish`.
- If the latest changes have already been saved, the button will say `Publish`.

One thing to always check is that all of the assets and references are also on the `PUBLISHED` stage so that everything loads properly.

If Hygraph notices that assets or relations to your content are still in the `DRAFT` stage, clicking `Save & Publish` will prompt you to publish these too.

When content is `PUBLISHED`, the system creates a new version so you can see how it has evolved and when it was last updated.

**Note:**

If you have additional stages enabled, you will be presented with a dropdown to choose which stage you want to publish to.

![Publishing to a stage](https://hygraph.com/images/classic-docs/user-guides/publish-to-content-stages.png)

## Edit published content

Once published, any content can be edited in a similar fashion to [creating new content](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/developer-guides/content/creating-content). Simply navigate to the content piece you would like to modify, and use the content editor as before.

When changes are made to the content, you will see the `Save & Publish` button has been reactivated, allowing you to publish the changes you've made. If you choose to retain the changes in the `DRAFT` stage and not publish them, you will need to click on the `Save` button instead.

You will notice that the pill for that content in the content table has changed to blue, indicating [outdated content](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/developer-guides/content/publishing-content#outdated-content). This implies that changes have been made on the `DRAFT` stage that have not yet been promoted to the `PUBLISHED` stage.

## Outdated content

With Hygraph it is possible to review posts that have been published beforehand, and have changes made on the `DRAFT` stage.

![Outdated Content Warning](https://hygraph.com/images/classic-docs/user-guides/outdated-content-warning.png)

When looking at the content view, a new blue pill indicates that a previously `PUBLISHED` content piece has changes that were saved on the `DRAFT` stage, but not on the `PUBLISHED` stage.

Once reviewed and approved by the Editor, clicking `Publish` will promote the new changes to the `PUBLISHED` stage.

To compare the changes made on `DRAFT` to the `PUBLISHED` state, simply navigate to the available versions in the right sidebar.

![Compare current draft](https://hygraph.com/images/classic-docs/user-guides/compare-with-current-draft.png)

Click [here](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/developer-guides/content/content-stages) to learn more about content stages.

## Scheduled publishing

**Hygraph** allows you to schedule content publishing and unpublishing, as one off or as a collection - referred to as a "release".

Check out our document on [scheduled publishing](https://hygraph.com/classic-docs/developer-guides/content/scheduled-publishing) to learn more.
