# Updating content

Learn more about updating content as well as sorting related content.

**Are you looking for our API Reference?:**

[Check out our API Reference document on mutations](https://hygraph.com/docs/api-reference/content-api/mutations#update-entries)

## How to update content

[Video: Content List Overview](https://eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com/AvHQ3RDvFSousA8iwElOKz/cmnn9xvxshv5h07vx2sy9mqw8)

1. Navigate to the **Content editor**.
2. Select a content model.
3. Find the content item you want to edit on the table and click on it to enter content editing mode.
4. Edit the content and then click `Save` to save the newly edited content in the `DRAFT` stage, or click `Save & Publish` to move the content to the `PUBLISHED` stage.

**Pro Tip:**
Content in Hygraph that has been saved but has never been published, exists only in the `DRAFT` stage.

When promoted to the `PUBLISHED` stage, content will exist in that stage, and also in `DRAFT`.

When you update a content entry and save without publishing, that new content will be saved in `DRAFT` and the entry will show a blue `Published` pill on the content table, indicating that it's **outdated**.

Content being **outdated** means that the version currently saved in the `DRAFT` stage contains changes that have not yet been promoted to `PUBLISHED`.
