We just launched our new Hygraph Studio in beta. Learn more

Hygraph
Docs

Publish content

#Overview

When you create content, publishing it is crucial to make it visible and available to others. Only content that is published can be consumed by others.

Hygraph has two Content Stages, DRAFT and PUBLISHED - with PUBLISHED being the only stage where content is visible to others and ready to be consumed.

Once you've finished working on a content piece in the DRAFT stage, simply click Save & Publish or Publish to move it to the PUBLISHED stage.

Content entries often contain assets and references, so it's a good practice to make sure they are also PUBLISHED. This ensures everything loads properly.

Publish related assetsPublish related assets

If any assets or references are still in the DRAFT stage, you'll be prompted to publish them when you click Save & Publish. When content is PUBLISHED, the system creates a new version that shows how the content has evolved and when it was last updated.

#Publish a content entry

To publish an already created content entry:

  1. Navigate to the Content editor tab of your Hygraph project.
  2. Select the content model where the entry you want is.
  3. Click on the pencil icon of the content entry you want, to enter the content-editing mode.
  4. Click on the Publish button on the upper right corner of the screen to publish.

Please note that if you make any changes to the content entry, the Publish button will say Save & Publish instead.

#Bulk publishing

You can select several content pieces from the content table and publish them at the same time.

Bulk publishingBulk publishing

  1. Click on the content editor tab of the app.
  2. Locate the view where the content is, and click on it.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select the content entries you want to bulk publish.
  4. Click on the Publish option at the top of the table.
  5. A confirmation screen will display. Click on Publish again to finalize the process.

#Scheduled publishing

Scheduled publishingScheduled publishing

Hygraph gives you the possibility to schedule the publishing and unpublishing of content pieces.

When editing a content entry, instead of publishing right away, you can choose the option Schedule Item for publishing at a later day and time:

  1. Inside a content entry, click on the arrow icon on the Publish button to display the dropdown menu. Remember that if the content piece has never been saved before, the button says Save & Publish.
  2. Click on Schedule entry to select a later date and time. If the content piece has never been saved before, the option you need to select is Save & schedule entry.
  3. Select whether you want to schedule the entry individually, or if you want to add it to an existing release, then click Continue.

The next screen depends on what you selected on step 3:

#Schedule entry only

On this screen you must provide the scheduling information:

  • Action: You can schedule content to be published or unpublished. Click on the radio buttons to select one of these options.
  • Date & Time: Use the calendar picker to select a date and a time for the scheduled action.
  • Time zone: Use the dropdown menu to select a time zone.
  • Optional: If there are any unpublished assets or references linked to the entry you are scheduling, you can schedule those as well. After clicking on Continue in the previous screen, a new screen will display where you can select the items. Use the checkboxes to select the items you want to schedule.

Finally, click on Schedule entry. A success message will display on the lower right corner of the screen to confirm that you are done.

#Add entry to a release

If your project has scheduled releases configured, you can simply add your content entry to it:

  1. Select a schedule from the dropdown menu, then click on Continue.
  2. Use the radio buttons to select the action: PUBLISH or UNPUBLISH.
  3. Optional: If there are any unpublished assets or references linked to the entry you are scheduling, you can schedule those as well. After clicking on Continue in the previous screen, a new screen will display where you can select the items. Use the checkboxes to select the items you want to schedule.
  4. Click on Add to release to finalize the process.

#Bulk scheduling

You can select several content pieces from the content table and schedule them for publishing at the same time.

Bulk schedulingBulk scheduling

  1. Click on the content editor tab of the app.
  2. Locate the view where the content is, and click on it.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select the content entries you want to bulk schedule.
  4. Click on the Schedule option at the top of the table.
  5. If you want to schedule the entries without adding them to a release, follow this workflow. If you want to add the entries to a release, follow this workflow.

#Unpublish content

You can use this workflow to unpublish one or more content entries.

Unpublish contentUnpublish content

  1. Click on the content editor tab of the app.
  2. Locate the view where the content is, and click on it.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select one or more content entries to unpublish.
  4. Click on the Unpublish option at the top of the table.
  5. A confirmation screen will display. Click on Unpublish again to finalize the process. The content entries will go back to the DRAFT stage. Check out our document on content stages to learn more about the meaning of stages.