# Update content

Learn how to update content using the capabilities of the Hygraph app

## Outdated content

Hygraph lets you know which pieces of content are outdated compared to the published version. They display in the content editor with a blue `Published` tag, like so:

![Publish content](https://hygraph.com/images/docs/editor-guides/update-content/publish-outdated.png)

Content entries where the published version is the same as the latest version of the content entry saved in the system, display a green `Published` tag in the `Stages` column of the form.

## Update content

Sometimes you need to update a piece of content that you or or another user created previously. To do so, you simply need to follow the [content edition flow](https://hygraph.com/docs/editor-guides/content/edit-content).

If your role involves publishing other editor's content so that the published version is the same as the latest version in the system, you can [filter content entries by stage](https://hygraph.com/docs/editor-guides/content/filter-content#stage) to find the content entries that are published but outdated - that is, in the blue `Published` stage - and easily access them.

    **Note:**
    If an admin has started a content freeze, you won't be able to update entries until it's lifted. A banner at the top of Studio tells you when a freeze is active and who set it. See [Content Freeze](https://hygraph.com/docs/developer-guides/project/content-freeze) for details.
