We just launched our new Hygraph Studio in beta. Learn more

Hygraph
Docs

Duplicating content

#Duplicate content entries

Inside each content entry, editors have the option to duplicate content.

Follow these steps to duplicate content:

  1. Navigate to the content editor and select the model that contains the entry you want to duplicate.
  2. Click on the pencil icon to enter edit mode.
  3. Click on the duplicate icon at the top of the screen.
  4. The duplicated entry loads. The word (copy) at the end of the title line indicates that you're currently in a copy of the original entry. You can now make the necessary changes to the content entry.
  5. Click on Save or Save & publish. If you try to leave without saving, the system will warn you.

Note that if the content entry contains reference fields, some of the relations will be duplicated and others won't. The system will notify you if this is the case:

References not duplicatedReferences not duplicated

What is copied in this case is the reference - the link between the two content pieces - but not the referenced entry itself.

The following table explains the system behavior depending on reference configuration:

TypeDirectionCardinalitySystem behavior
Can reference only one modelOne-way referenceOne to oneThe system does not duplicate the reference. You can add it manually.
Can reference only one modelTwo-way referenceOne to oneThe system does not duplicate the reference. You can add it manually.
Can reference only one modelOne-way referenceOne to manyThe system does not duplicate the reference. You can add it manually.
Can reference only one modelTwo-way referenceMany to manyThe system duplicates the reference.
Can reference multiple modelsTwo-way referenceOne to oneThe system does not duplicate the reference. You can add it manually.
Can reference multiple modelsTwo-way referenceMany to manyThe system duplicates the reference.
Can reference multiple modelsTwo-way referenceMany to oneThe system duplicates the reference.

#Duplicate relations

When viewing content that has relations (references), you can quickly duplicate referenced entries within an original entry. This is a quick way to keep the format of the related content, while allowing you to make content edits that won't affect other entries that contain the same reference.

Duplicating related contentDuplicating related content

  1. Navigate to the content entry that contains the relation you want to duplicate.
  2. Click on the three dots context menu and select the Duplicate option.
  3. The duplicated reference screen will display. Here you can make the necessary edits, then Save or Save & Publish.
  4. Saving returns you to the original content entry you were working on. The reference field now contains the duplicated reference.